Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for January 4th, 2010

Today it was 5 degrees Fahrenheit outside.  And the windchill was 9 below.  I made certain I had enough kerosene to keep the garage warm for my poor old arthritic dog.

I was surprised when he asked to go outside this morning.  I was more surprised when he stayed out.  It’s only been a couple of days and he hasn’t been eating the pain pill laced ham I left for him.  There is no way that dog should be moving around like he is.

And yet, there he was, trotting back and forth at the edge of the yard.  Grumbling at the dog next door.  I stood in the cold and shivered, waiting for him to return.  He didn’t.

Instead, he went to his old spot in front of the shed.  Where the sun shines most of the day, uninterrupted by the tree branches.   He curled up at his post of many years and stayed there.

When I called to him to come back in the garage, he looked at me and then put his head back down.  It became obvious to me that he was not interested in returning to the semi warm garage with the comfy pile of blankets and space heater.

Instead, he stood his post as he’s always done.  Guarding the yard against possible intruders.  Barking warnings at the squirrels that race back and forth across the yard.

I was humbled.  Another life lesson from the dog.  I read somewhere that a true professional is someone who does the job even when they don’t feel like it.  I’ve determined that Hercules is officially a professional watch dog now.  And I’ve stopped hovering.

Read Full Post »