Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for January 11th, 2010

Change is good.

There are times when I spin my wheels, never quite moving forward. Usually it’s when my body isn’t up to par, sometimes it’s just a vague feeling of blah. And then other times, I get a burst of energy and just go like gangbusters. I’d love to have balance and be that effective all the time.

My world is in transition this week. Mike has taken a new job that keeps him away overnight twice a week. The quiet is a change. I’m adjusting fairly quickly. I have a list of projects that have been put off that I can finish. I can deep clean and dust without worrying about whether it would kick up Mike’s severe allergies and asthma.

I find myself falling into “kids’ weekend” mode. When my children were young, they went to their father’s house every other weekend. It was an adjustment at first, then I learned to enjoy it. The first thing I would do is clean the whole house and put everything in order. Because I knew it would stay that way until they returned.

I called it my ’48 hours of freedom’. My friends asked me “what will you do?” And the answer was then and the answer is now “Everything or nothing.”

Tonight I cooked a pot of chili, sharing it with my son and his room mate. With enough left over so that when Mike returns I have dinner ready to put on the table. I have to double check myself on all those little things he took care of for me. Pets are fed and watered. The litter box looks like it can wait until tomorrow. Dishes are done. Table is cleared.

And now, I’m going to go curl up with a good book and read until I fall asleep. I’ll adjust. Really. Change is good.

Read Full Post »

Sunday afternoons are usually spent entertaining the children.  This weekend that included sledding and playing online games (I’m now puppy sitting a virtual chihuahua during the week for the princess).  Usually towards mid afternoon, we start gearing up to take Mike’s children back to their mother’s house.

This weekend was no different.  As the afternoon wore on, we found ourselves sitting all sitting in the living room just enjoying each others’ company.  I happened to glance out the front door and then looked harder.  There was a squirrel on my front porch rail.  That’s not unusual in itself, because I have several squirrels that live in my trees.  What was unusual was what he had in his mouth.

I pointed it out to the children “Hey, what does that squirrel have in his mouth?  Is that a pancake?”  It was huge, compared to the squirrel.  I reached for my camera.  By the time I got to the front door, he had scurried up the tree, out of my sight.

I sat back down at my desk and we went back to deciding how to spend the rest of our time together.  Suddenly Derrick called out “There he is again.”  This time, the squirrel had half of a donut.

We watched as he scurried up the tree with the donut that was almost as big as he was.  I guess he was stocking up for the cold as well.
Ambitious Squirrel

We should all be so resourceful!

Read Full Post »