Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for January 13th, 2010

I call my neighbor frequently. We’ve become great friends over the last couple of years and talk almost every day – either on the phone or visiting each others’ houses.

She has two daughters and they frequently answer the phone when I call. The younger one has a unique and very literal perspective. More than once, I’ve called and – when she answered – asked “What is your mother doing?” She will tell me and then wait. Sometimes I follow it with “Well, can I talk to her?” If I say nothing, she’ll ask “Do you want to talk to her?”

Yesterday, I was feeling a little ornery. I called my neighbor, and when her daughter answered I asked, as always “What is your mother doing?” The eleven year old answered “Watching American Idol.” I responded “Oh. Ok.” and then I hung up.

She didn’t even question it. She went and sat back down. Her mother asked her who called and she told her. She asked what I wanted and she told her. Laughing, she called me back.

We spent the next 20 minutes on the phone giggling over it. It felt good to laugh like that with all the bad things going on in the world. When Mike came home, I was still laughing. I think about it now and smile. Sometimes, it’s the little things . . . . .

Read Full Post »