Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for January 14th, 2010

Hercules is recovered, pretty fully I believe. Last night, a friend of mine was here picking up his repaired computer and he brought Herc a bone. Hercules sniffed at the foil wrapped treat and then nudged it. When the bone fell to the ground, my friend reached to pick it up to give to the dog.

He straightened up immediately and took a step back when Herc swung his head around with a mean sounding growl (letting him know that it was NOT ok to touch the bone once it hit the floor).

Tonight, I cleaned out the fridge. There was some lunch meat that was nearing it’s end of life and a little bit of ham left. He devoured it as though I’d been starving him (which I have not!). And then he circled me, asking for more.

I don’t know if it’s because the weather is a little warmer or if it’s because I’ve been slipping him the medicine every night that the vet gave me for him.

Whatever it is, I’m incredibly grateful. There’s still a lot of life in that old dog. Ask my friend who tried to touch his food!

Read Full Post »